Skip to main content

About the Department

The Trussville Police Department is a member of the Jefferson County Personnel Board. The Personnel Board classifies all positions within the department. Employees are hired and promoted through competitive exams, which are administered by the Personnel Board. For information concerning employment or testing for the City of Trussville or any of the other jurisdictions under the Jefferson County Personnel Board call (205) 325-5515, or you may apply online.  You can also go online and fill out a Trussville Employment Application. Trussville Employment Application, then email it to

The Trussville Police Department consists of 85 members. There are 70 sworn officers who include the Chief of Police, two Captains, four Lieutenants, thirteen Sergeants, and fifty Officers. There are fifteen civilian or non-sworn employees. These include ten public safety dispatchers, three Corrections Officers, one property clerk and one administrative assistant in the records section.

This department is progressive. Recognizing the constant changes in the community itself, this department strives to stay abreast of the changes and initiate programs that will best serve the community.

The Department consists of four divisions: Patrol, Special Operations, Support/Communications, and Criminal Investigations/Corrections.

Eric Rush is the Chief of Police.  He is responsible for the overall supervision and administration of the Police Department. The Chief makes departmental policy and procedure, as well as overseeing personnel matters. Chief Rush reports to the Mayor.

Captain Dave Morrette is responsible for the Patrol Operations Division and Special Operations Division

Captain Greg Cardwell is responsible for the Support/Communications Division and Criminal Investigations/Corrections Division.

This division is commanded by Lt. Todd Posey and is responsible for first response to calls for service, preliminary investigations, reporting of incidents and offenses, proactive patrol, traffic enforcement, and accident investigation. The Honor Guard is also attached to the Patrol Division.

This division is commanded by Lt. Richard Lovell and consists of the Traffic Unit, K9 Unit, Direct Enforcement Unit, Special Response Team, Training Division, and Fleet Services.

This division is commanded by Lt. Chuck Bradford and consists of the School Resource Officers, Communications Center, Code Enforcement, Business Services, Social Media, Property Room, and Records.

This division is commanded by Lt. Clint Riner and consists of the Criminal Investigations Division and Corrections Division.  Lt. Riner is also the Public Information Officer.