Skip to main content

Board of Zoning Adjustment

Board of Zoning Adjustment

Meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at City Hall. This is a five-member board composed of four citizen members and the Chairman of the Planning and Zoning Board. Members serve three-year terms with the exception of the Planning and Zoning Board representative. Supernumary members serve in the absence of any board member. Four affirmative votes are required for passage of any request.

Telephone calls and mail on Board of Zoning Adjustment matters should be directed to:
Ms. Erin Hamilton in the Inspection’s Office
Telephone: (205) 655-5483.

This quasi-judicial Board may hear:

  • Appeals from the decision of the building inspector
  • Requests for special exception uses as allowed by the zoning ordinance
  • Requests for variances from the terms of the zoning ordinance due to special conditions and circumstances that do not result from the actions of the applicant.

All items for consideration by the Board must be submitted along with the required fee not later than ten days prior to the day in which the matter is to be heard. Four affirmative votes are required for approval. Board members should not discuss matters pending before the board outside of the public hearing.

The Chairman of the Planning & Zoning Board always serves on this board.

Board Members

(Members appointed by Council)

Jef FreemanFeb. 15th, 2025
Tommy GeorgeFeb. 15th, 2024
Darrell Skipper-Planning and Zoning ChairOct. 31st, 2024
Max BenderFeb. 15th, 2023
Jeff Shelley- ChairmanFeb. 15th, 2023
Supernumary Members:
J.T. Murphy Feb. 15th, 2023
Tony Riley Feb 15th, 2025